Poker Blog 1

I started playing poker 18 months ago, playing a lot of Sit and Go’s which are like little mini tournaments, just 1 or 2 tables. I did ok, made a little money but in the end just felt like I was bouncing around not making much progress. I don’t have a lot of time to play unlike many people I know, so perhaps I just didn’t give it long enough.

My Sit and Go GraphAfter that I switched to No Limit Cash play, and I can’t see myself going back. My style of poker has changed a lot since then adapting to the play and I’m doing pretty well. I started off with just the minimum deposit and I aim to build it up and then move up the stakes. Generally the advice is that you should have around 30 buyins for the cash stakes you’re playing. This is to account for variance, Poker is a game which involves luck and even if you’re playing fine you can still be unlucky and lose money. If you don’t account for this with the stakes you’re playing quickly you’ll end up bust! At the moment I’ve managed to move up one blind level, so instead of playing with blinds of $0.01/$0.02 I am now playing $0.02/$0.05. Not that impressive perhaps, but all progress is good progress!

Cash Graph taken using HoldEm Manager

Cash Graph taken using HoldEm Manager

This graph was made using HoldEm Manager which is an absolutely superb piece of software you can use to gain stats about yourself, and others at your table. I’ll probably write a future blogpost about my layout for the statistics I use at the table and the multitude of other features it has. As a Maths student, and soon to be Statistics student it’s no surprise my poker game is quite mathsy! I’ll keep you all updated with how I’m doing and how many hands I manage to squeeze in amongst all the dreary revision.

About lenty

22 year old medical statistician living in London. I love drone music, F1, politicians and reading fantasy/sci-fi/dystopian fiction. Generally I post about a mixture of all the above plus the movies I watch!
This entry was posted in Poker. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Poker Blog 1

  1. I don’t trust poker software. Do they really works?

    • lenty says:

      It depends what you’re looking for really, they don’t just instantly improve your game. But they’re a useful tool. Most software has a trial period of 15 or 30 days that you can evaluate the software using. So just give it a try.

Leave a Reply

