Kindle Review

Having enthusiastically raved to one of my office colleagues about my Kindle I’ve realised that the time has come to give it a brief write-up.

I’ve had my Kindle for three weeks now and have just finished my third book on it! I’ve wanted a Kindle for some time now, the glittering combined attraction of cheaper books and new technology. The Kindle 3 was the tipping-point with the price tag plummeting to just £109 for the basic model. Wow!

In general the Kindle feels very solid and well built, all the buttons have a reassuring firmness and the non-slip material of the back gives you confidence you’re not going to drop it if you read it whilst standing up and commuting. The font and screen are also excellent, sometimes I’m amazed that it isn’t actual paper! Being able to read and turn pages one handed is a real boon for an underground commute.

The Kindle isn’t all perfection however. I’m glad I went for the basic Wi-Fi model for one. The 3G model has a £50 higher price tag and neither the need for  additional books whilst you’re away from a computer or the clunky difficult to read web browser can really make up for that. It’s a shame because this comic almost convinced me that it was worthwhile!


I remember reading this blog before I got a kindle and the “criticisms” of a ebook reader were interesting. They are virtually all to do with the physicality of a book and secondary uses related to this. There’s a reason for that, when you get into the reality of an actual reading experience the kindle will dominate. Have poor eye sight? No need to be restricted to large print books – buy a kindle and stick it on large font size. Read lots of fantasy or big books? Kindle is going to be a lot lighter. Trust me!
Here’s a photo of my kindle, poor mobile resolution doesn’t really do it justice!

 

About lenty

22 year old medical statistician living in London. I love drone music, F1, politicians and reading fantasy/sci-fi/dystopian fiction. Generally I post about a mixture of all the above plus the movies I watch!
This entry was posted in Review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

