New Year Fireworks

Finally for today I thought I’d share with you how the New Year Fireworks on embankment went!

My sister and I arrived at Embankment tube station around 7:15 having been advised to turn up at half 7. We’d come well prepared: 8 cans of cider, sandwiches, chocolate, crisps, 5 layers of upper clothing, hats, scarves, rain coats, gloves, and a kindle to keep my amused. After squeezing through some barriers we arrived on the main stretch of tarmac that has been closed for the evening. It was already a little crowded towards the section of road overlooking the Thames but after strolling along a little towards Big Ben we found a nice free section of curb where we could sit down and wait out the next 4 and a half hours.

The atmosphere was good: lots of people of all ages, ethnicities and nationalities mingling together. It’s clear we’d been a little too keen. Whilst slowly filling up it wasn’t till just slightly before 9 that we seemed to reach capacity and have the barriers close allowing no more entry (although we weren’t locked in and could leave!). Eventually it got so busy we had to stand but it was at this point that the large speakers situated just outside the barriers were on subjecting us to Radio 1. To be fair though the playlist was pretty neutral and largely uninterrupted. Quite tame with all the artists you’d expect. By 11 I was beginning to fear that Katy Perry wouldn’t be played but as my sister wisely predicted at 11:45 we got fireworks! Cheesy!

The fireworks were worth the wait. I’ve no idea how much they cost but clearly it was a pretty penny. At times it seemed like the sky was on fire. For the 8 minutes of the show my face was permanently :D. First action of 2011: Hugging my sister. It’s going to be a good year!

I’ll leave you with this video but I’ve got to say that it’s so much better in person. With just a fixed vantage and without the constant jumping around of camera angles you get a better display and a much grander sense of the scale. Not sure whether I’ll do the same next year but certainly an idea!

About lenty

22 year old medical statistician living in London. I love drone music, F1, politicians and reading fantasy/sci-fi/dystopian fiction. Generally I post about a mixture of all the above plus the movies I watch!
This entry was posted in Personal, Sightseeing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

