Post a day

Seems like wordpress are taking it upon themselves to challenge new bloggers to post once a day.

My blog has been revived for 2 months 4 days now. Over this time I’ve made 45 blog posts so we’re averaging at one blog post every 1.44 days. So not quite at the post a day target I set for myself. In fairness though this does include the 2 week period where I was deliberately trying to spend time with friends and family. Taking that out and we’re just slightly off target. This year I’ve not made this blog a New Years resolution.

I don’t need to. Just expressing myself and writing for the sake of it is enough. I think posts are beginning to come a lot easier to me than before although I’m still frustrated by the general quality of my writing. It’s very clunky still and despite reading quite frequently I find myself being drawn to the same language repeatedly. In Stephen King’s Memoirs of a Craft one of his tips is to use the first work that comes into your head rather than searching through a thesaurus. Quite often the first word is the one you mean and the best. So I’m not talking about making every 2 syllable word a 4 syllable word! But a pragmatic target this year will be to run one of those programs that creates a chart of word usage frequency and to see if by the end of this year I’m slightly more creative.

Also whilst we’re on the subject of targets for the year, referring back to the post I made last year, I think it’d be useful to note what realistic ambitions I have for this year. I want to:

  • Get a better social life and have more friends in London. This does not mean kidnapping my friends and bringing them to London. Not until December 2011 at any rate.
  • Becoming fitter. I’m 22 so need to start looking after my body. Did a first run of the year today and I’ll be very annoyed if in 3 months time I’ve given up again!
  • Cook a greater variety of dishes. Part of a staying healthy drive :).
  • Brainstorm, write and edit several short stories. When we get to November we can see how I’m doing and maybe have a go at NaNoWriMo. We shall see!
About lenty

22 year old medical statistician living in London. I love drone music, F1, politicians and reading fantasy/sci-fi/dystopian fiction. Generally I post about a mixture of all the above plus the movies I watch!
This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Post a day

  1. Rose says:

    Hey, great post. Great blog. It is fresh and to the point. I just read literally dozens of blogs, because I can’t sleep, and yours is by far the best quality. You know it is rare to find decent content on these things… Most of them are cheap and spammy.

Leave a Reply

