Things that still freak me out about London

On my run tonight I saw something quite startling.. up in the sky there was a star! I haven’t seen a star up in the sky in London for quite some time and this got me thinking about other things that are a little different about this city:

1) Lack of stars. In York and Canley you could always see tons of stars when it wasn’t cloudy. After living in Reading for a year you thought I’d have got used to this by now but apparently not. Everytime I leave London it makes me feel like the Krikketmen from The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy’s Tertiary Phase. A specifies who lived for thousands of years without the knowledge that any other species could possibly exist since everything beyond their sun was obscured by a dust cloud.

Only a matter of time..

2) Freaky wildlife. Squirrels should not come up to me in Regent’s Park begging for food. That’s just not right. Squirrels should scamper off at the first sight of me! In the Museum Gardens in York squirrels were tame.. but not this tame. Seeing a lady taking a picture of a squirrel eating out of her palm is just too strange.

3) Post lag. For some reason everything arrives two days later than it should. Case in point today: my new sim card for my phone contract. *whine* I want it now!

4) The amount of homelessness. I’m beginning to get used to this one, but the number of people who are homeless really surprised and saddened me when I first moved here. My dad says that homeless people seem to flock to London for some reason. I’m not sure whether this is because there are more resources and shelters or simply the hope of more opportunities in the big city. Regardless it has caused me to shift my charity donations from children to homelessness.

5) The speed at which London felt right for me. Reading never really felt like anything other than a temporary home. But within a few months of being in London that’s not the case :). So much to see and do still!

About lenty

22 year old medical statistician living in London. I love drone music, F1, politicians and reading fantasy/sci-fi/dystopian fiction. Generally I post about a mixture of all the above plus the movies I watch!
This entry was posted in Personal, Sightseeing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

