Meeting Joe Abercrombie

So yesterday the heroes by Job Abercrombie was released. He started his little signing tour in London (naturally) so I went along to the forbidden planet MEGASTORE to meet him, get the book and a signature. I’ve never been to a book signing or a forbidden planet MEGASTORE before so wasn’t sure what to expect. The store was, well, mega. Ground floor was packed with every crappy plastic geeky toy you could possibly need. As you might be able to tell from my description, I really don’t get having awful plastic cluttering the house or apartment but if that’s your thing then fair enough. Basement was much better; tons of comics, manga and books. Also lots of fantasy and sci-fi magazines which you never seem to see anywhere (got a kindle subscription now but I just appreciate seeing the paper copies).

The book signing was what I expected, a long queue of fellow enthusiasts and a gigantic pile of hardbacks. Joe turned up and was very amusing. He has quite a self-depreciative sense of humour which works well with the “buy all my books” publicity of a signing. The reading was great, and once I finish this next Dan Abnett I’ll get right onto reading the entire thing. I’ve got to say that meeting someone semi-famous if you’re a little shy like me is a little nerve-enducing. Awkward small talk with someone I barely know is never my forte and I was just pleased to get a new, signed book. I enjoyed the experience and will both return to Forbidden Planet and any future signings by any of my favourite authors.

Mission accomplished

About lenty

22 year old medical statistician living in London. I love drone music, F1, politicians and reading fantasy/sci-fi/dystopian fiction. Generally I post about a mixture of all the above plus the movies I watch!
This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

