Roald Dahl’s Twisted Tales

Went to the theatre last night with Jen to see Roald Dahl’s Twisted Tales and it was a very pleasant evening’s entertainment. We had cheap tickets, row D, although I didn’t personally struggle with the view save for one scene where a taxified dog was involved.. Unlike the Roald Dahl you may have read or seen when younger this is a 14+ affair with good reason. It’s a scary dark comedy and could easily leave younger audience members terrified for weeks.

Photo: ©Alastair Muir

The play revolves around a series of stories being told in a railway carriage by a mysterious newcomer. Each involves a little twist in the tail of the tale and I eagerly awaited and enjoyed the end of each. My particular favourite was possibly the tale involving a bet between two men with the stakes of a Cadillac.. and the little finger of a left hand. The final few minutes of this sequence had me on the edge of my seat with tension. There was a great use of audio throughout with care and attention paid to result in a horror movie-esque soundscape.

The play has been adapted by Jeremy Dyson of League of Gentleman fame and his twisted way of viewing the world was visible. It’s only 80 odd minutes long but a lot was crammed into those 80 minutes and I felt it was the perfect length. The stage scenery wasn’t on the heavy side but the props that did exist were used to excellent effect. I think the performances were utterly brilliant with great diversity in roles played by each individual cast member, Nick Fletcher playing several characters which were extremely vivid.

Roald Dahl’s Twisted Tales is at the lyric hammersmithshows for just two more weeks and I urge you to pop along if you can. Other reviews are slightly less generous but I felt this was one of the strongest theatre plays I’ve seen.

 

About lenty

22 year old medical statistician living in London. I love drone music, F1, politicians and reading fantasy/sci-fi/dystopian fiction. Generally I post about a mixture of all the above plus the movies I watch!
This entry was posted in Review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

