Best Tor.com short stories

Via Tor.com comes Locus‘s recommendations for their top stories of 2010. I really enjoy short stories although I generally find a much greater range of quality than in novels. This might be one of the reasons why they’re still not very popular which itself is surprising given the media would have us believe that we’re all gnats with the attention span of

Sorry I got distracted. Anyway here’s my recommendations of their recommendations!

What Doctor Gottlieb Saw” by Ian Tregillis

This was the first I read and my absolute favourite. It’s apparently a side story to his debut novel Bitter Seeds which has instantly shot up my must read list. Set in an alternate history where the Nazis didn’t lose WWII the events are set in a very special training camp. It succeeds in everything a short story needs to with a fascinating mystery and tension throughout as the titular character battles to save his life. All the threads combining together for the most perfect ending. A must read.

The Monster’s Million Faces” by Rachel Swirsky

In some ways this reminded me of the movie Eternal Sunshine of a Spotless Mind. Great concept and it felt very real and emotionally engaging.

The Fermi Paradox Is Our Business Model” by Charlie Jane Anders

Nice concept but felt the delivery was a little weak. Particularly some of the dialogue which was quite clunky, also the ending didn’t really feel like it worked. Think the original concept of the Fermi Paradox was fascinating. A nice excursion to wikipedia!

The Cage” by A.M. Dellamonica

Werewolf story.. so not my favourite fantasy subgenre. Feel like the vampire/werewolf thing has been done to undeath by now. Werewolves are not understood by some people in society where their existence becomes widespread, yawn. Well written and executed but just doesn’t strike me as very different.

The Courtship of the Queen” by Bruce McAllister

This was very unique. A beautiful story of young romance, growing up and trying to fit in with your peers. Didn’t have a clue where the story was going but I was hooked for 5 pages which is all you can ask for in a short story!

Clockwork Fairies” by Cat Rambo

Not read yet. Will report back.

Edit: Happy 100th post. I make that 0.86 posts a day since this blog resurfaced. A little below my self-set target but still pleased!

About lenty

22 year old medical statistician living in London. I love drone music, F1, politicians and reading fantasy/sci-fi/dystopian fiction. Generally I post about a mixture of all the above plus the movies I watch!
This entry was posted in Review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

